Fast-Backup logo

FAQ

The FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) covers a wide range of commonly asked questions. If you have a question which isn't covered here, please contact us.


What operating systems does Fast-Backup run on?

Fast-Backup works on Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 8.1, Windows 10 and Windows Server 2003, 2008, 2012.

What's the difference between the FREE Version and the PRO Version?

The PRO Version includes the following additional features:-

  • Automatic Daily Backups – Run backups automatically on a daily, weekly, or custom schedule. More >>
  • Full File History – Recover deleted, modified, or corrupted files from several backups earlier. More >>
  • Smart-Share – Optimize network bandwidth based on your "Speed" setting to minimize disruption to other users on the same network. More >>

Did You Know:  All of the PRO features are available to try in the FREE Version for 60 days.

How much does the PRO Version cost?

A single license for the PRO Version is just US$37. You can also purchase multiple licenses at discounted rates on the Order Form.

How do I re-run the same backup again?

When the backup is complete, Fast-Backup will ask you if you want to create a desktop shortcut to re-run the same backup quickly next time. Also, you will see that Fast-Backup makes a _FAST-BACKUP folder on your "To" drive so that you can quickly run the backup again by simply double-clicking the "Fast-Backup" icon in that folder.

Why is Fast-Backup saying the disk is full when it isn't?

If Fast-Backup says that the disk is full, but you look at the disk in Windows and it's not full, then the disk is probably corrupted. We recommend that you run Check Disk to check the drive for problems.

Why do I get an error when setting up a Scheduled Task in Windows XP?

By default, Windows XP doesn't allow you to setup a scheduled task without a password. If you don't use a password to log into Windows when starting your computer, then you might get an error like the one shown below when trying to setup a task without a password.

Scheduled Task error in Windows XP

If you see this error, you should folow these steps to allow a task to be scheduled without a password:
Windows XP Pro InstructionsWindows XP Home Instructions

What does "No Permission for Folder" mean?

Sometimes (especially when backing up your C Drive) you get a message in the logs at the end of the backup which says that a folder couldn't be backed up because of "No Permission for Folder". This is typically if you are logged in as one user and you are trying to backup data for another user. If you have administrative privileges, you can navigate to those folders (with Windows Explorer) and double-click them. You will be shown the following dialog:-

No permission

If you click on "Continue", then that folder will be backed up each other time you run Fast-Backup.

Why isn't my registration code working?

The registration codes are designed to work once (as an anti-piracy measure). If you're a registered user, and you need a new registration code for any reason (such as reinstalling the software, etc.), you can request a new code here. If you've only just registered, but you haven't received your registration code via email, please check your 'spam' or 'junk' folder, and if you still haven't received it, please contact support.

I've sent an email requesting support. Why haven't I heard back?

Please be sure that you sent your email to fast-backup@acclaimsoftware.com and allow 24 hours for a response (or longer for weekends).

What is your refund policy?

Please refer to our Return Policy.